How The Glory Of God Gives Meaning To All Of Life

  Nothing Else Matters. How to Glorify God in Death. 
The Crucifixion of Peter  by Caravaggio 1600. Blog Image
Nothing Else Matters. How to Glorify God in Death.
The Martyrdom of Peter – Michangelo Buonarrot 1550. Blog Image

 

How the glory of God gives meaning to all of life
How to Glorify God in Death
John 21:18–19; Philippians 1:18–26
Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

Sunday, May 2, 2010
Bulletin – Pastor to People – Sermon Notes

next …

LIVE BROADCAST

9:50 am CDT

Sunday

May 2, 2010

from

The Moody Church in Chicago

 

Bulletin – Sunday, May 2, 2010

 
Prelude Lizeth Alba, organ
Choral No. 4, Op. 11 – Christ Ist Erstanden (Hermann Schroeder)
Welcome Mary Whelchel
Presentation of New Members Dr. Hutz Hertzberg
Invocation Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer
Call to Worship Sanctuary Choir, directed by Sarah Sanders
“Think about His Love” (Walt Harrah, arr. Carol Cymbala)
 
“Great Is Thy Faithfulness” Hymnal 139
“Amazing Grace” Hymnal 343
 
Special Music Nicole Philibosian, soprano
“Echoes from My Mother’s Kitchen Window”
“How Great Thou Art” (arr. Roger Lentz)
 
Redemption Project Caris Pregnancy Counseling and Resources
Pastoral Prayer Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer
 
Offertory Anthem Sanctuary Choir, directed by Lizeth Alba
“Lord Jesus, Think on Me”
(Text by Synesius of Cyrene; Music by Joan J. Pinkston)
 
“Doxology – A Word of Praise” Hymnal 815
Praise God from Whom all blessings flow; praise Him, all creatures here below.
Praise Him, above – ye heavenly host. Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen.
 
 
Scripture Reading Philippians 1:18–26 (ESV) Dr. Hutz Hertzberg
Yes, and I will rejoice, for I know that through your prayers and the help of the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death.
For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. Convinced of this, I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your progress and joy in the faith, so that in me you may have ample cause to glory in Christ Jesus, because of my coming to you again.
 
 
 

Nothing Else Matters

How to Glorify God in Death

John 21:18–19; Philippians 1:18–26

Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer

 
 

“My Jesus, I Love Thee” Hymnal 79

 
Statement of Faith
I believe in God, the Father Almighty, the Creator of heaven and earth,
and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord:
Who was conceived of the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried…
The third day He arose again from the dead.
He ascended into heaven and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty,
whence He shall come to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit, God’s holy church, the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting. Amen.
(This statement of faith is adapted from The Apostles’ Creed )
 
Service of Communion
“Think about His Love – O How He Loves You and Me” Hymnal 158–349
 
Fellowship Offering
 
Commissioning Service Kyrgyzstan and Armenia EE STAMP Team
 
Postlude Dr. Paul Satre, organ
Fugue in D Major (George Frederic Handel)
This Evening at 5:00pm, Room 107–108
Sunday Evening Gathering
 
 

The Pace of Faith

The Faith to Walk

 Pastor Bob Gunte

 

Pastor to People  

         This past week I had the privilege of speaking to some of the supporters of our media ministry in St. Louis and Kansas City. I was gratified to learn that so many people listen to Running to Win on the radio or download the messages from the Internet. As always, your support and prayers for our wider ministry is appreciated.

          Incredibly, next week is Mother’s Day. If possible, bring your own mother and friends to church to hear my sermon, “Unloved, but Greatly Blessed” – the story of Leah, the wife of Jacob. It will be a reminder that God often singles out the most unlikely for special honor and privileges. You might be surprised at what you will hear.

Have a blessed week,
Pastor Lutzer

Sermon Notes – Sunday, May 2, 2010

 

NOTHING ELSE MATTERS

How the glory of God gives meaning to all of life

How to Glorify God in Death

John 21:18–19; Philippians 1:18–26

Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer   

John 21:18–19 ESV 

Jesus and Peter

18 (AD) Truly, truly, I say to you, when you were young,(AE) you used to dress yourself and walk wherever you wanted, but when you are old, you will stretch out your hands, and another will dress you and carry you where you do not want to go.” 19 (This he said to show(AF) by what kind of death he was to glorify God.) And after saying this he said to him, (AG) “Follow me.”

 

Philippians 1:18–26 ESV

Jesus Appears to Seven Disciples

Jesus and Peter 

18 What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in that I rejoice. 

 To Live Is Christ

 Yes, and I will rejoice, 19 for I know that(AF) through your prayers and(AG) the help of(AH) the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, 20 as it is my eager expectation and hope(AI) that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full(AJ) courage now as always Christ(AK) will be honored in my body,(AL) whether by life or by death. 21 For to me(AM) to live is Christ, and to die is gain. 22 If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. 23 (AN) I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is(AO) to depart and(AP) be with Christ, for that is far better. 24 But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. 25 (AQ) Convinced of this,(AR) I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your(AS) progress and(AT) joy in the faith, 26 so that in me(AU) you may have ample cause to glory in Christ Jesus, because of my coming to you again.

We glorify God in death by affirming that to be with Christ is gain. 

1. Facing death, we value the worth of Christ

 

2. Facing death, we trust the timing of Christ

  

3. Facing death, we affirm the witness of Christ

 

a)

b)

c)

 
 The Inspirational
 
 
About:

The Inspirational ~ The Biblical Inspirationnal

My Blog ~ Homepage URL:

http://thebiblicalinspirational.blogspot.com/

Feed:

http://thebiblicalinspirational.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default

My Email Address:

theinspirational@gmail.com

 

The Inspirational

About:

The Inspirational Biblical Inspiration

 

My Blog ~ Homepage URL:

http://theinspirational.wordpress.com/

Feed:

http://theinspirational.wordpress.com/feed/

My Email Address:

theinspirational@gmail.com

 New page: The Inspirational

WHERE ARE THE OLD PATHS:

 

http://theinspirational.wordpress.com/where-are-the-old-paths/

 

About The Inspirational

The Inspirational
This entry was posted in Glorify God, How to Glorify God in Death and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.